Skip Navigation Links
About UsExpand About Us
Grant ProgramsExpand Grant Programs
EvaluationExpand Evaluation
Active GrantsExpand Active Grants
Memorial AwardsExpand Memorial Awards
Grant HistoryExpand Grant History
NewsletterExpand Newsletter
Skip Navigation Links
 Skip Navigation LinksSpring Edition 2015  
Label Letter from Executive Director - Yair Rotstein
   Skip Navigation Links    
Yair Rotstein, Executive Director of the U.S.-Israel Binational Science Foundation

Welcome to VISION, the inaugural electronic newsletter from the United States-Israel Binational Science Foundation, or BSF for short. Like you, I care deeply about the value of collaborative research. Take a look at what our collaborative work between Israeli and American scientists accomplishes everyday.

In this issue, you will learn about our board chair Professor Abraham Israeli, our partnership with the National Science Foundation in the United States, our funders the Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust and the Rosalinde and Albert Gilbert Foundation and so much more.

Right now the BSF is deeply engaged in our annual process of convening review panels and considering scientific proposals. Through this rigorous and demanding process, over our 43 year history, the BSF has awarded nearly $600 million in today’s value to over 5,000 research projects involving more than 7,400 scientists at 375 participating institutions throughout the United States and Israel.

The BSF was created in 1972 by an historic agreement between the two countries to promote scientific relations between the U.S. and Israel by supporting collaborative world-class research in a wide variety of basic and applied scientific fields. An endowment was formed in equal shares by both governments and it generates about $16 million in grant money each year.

When it comes to prestige and quality of BSF scientists, the numbers speak for themselves. Among those who have participated in BSF-supported collaborative research projects, are 42 Nobel Laureates, and many Lasker and Wolf Prize recipients.

We hope that you enjoy the stories and join with us in celebrating our many accomplishments. We deeply value your support as we continue these efforts.


Yair Rotstein
Executive Director
Skip Navigation Links
Site Map