• Nobel-winning discovery of critical cell function

    The 2004 Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded to Profs. Avram Hershko and Aaron Ciechanover (Technion), together with Prof. Irwin Rose (UC Irvine), for their joint discovery of the ubiquitin system for protein degradation, which regulates the breakdown of proteins governing almost all major functions of the cell.

    The cooperation between the Israeli and American research groups was made possible by continuous support by the BSF for some 15 years; Prof Hershko himself received uninterrupted BSF support for a period of 24 years.

    These breakthroughs have already produced a potentially life-saving drug: in 2003 the U.S. Food and Drug Ad